artist image

Jazz Station Big Band & Jason Rebello



One of Europe's most promising big bands meets British star pianist

Brosella has made it a point of honour for years to put a big band on stage: from our own Brussels Jazz Orchestra to the renowned big band of Maria Schneider. The Art of the Big Band is a discipline in itself, that of painting with colours and creating arrangements to support the soloists.

Brosella is therefore very happy that the Brussels Jazz Station Big Band, one of Europe's most promising big bands, will open the festival on Sunday. The band has been operating from the jazz club Jazz Station in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode since 2006 and has turned out to be a fixture on the national jazz scene, with its unique sound and repertoire of both originals and modern standards (Monk, Mingus ...). The JSBB consists of thirteen exceptional soloists, some of whom are also gifted arrangers.
“The writing is ingenious and ambitious and the arrangements are deep and meaningful. The clever use of odd time signatures, metric modulations and free improvisation keeps the listener engaged and interested, but at the same time there’s great lyricism, simplicity and beauty in their work. Definitely a high quality release from an ensemble that has unlimited potential” according Antonio Sanchez, drummer of the Pat Metheny Group and composer for the soundtrack of Birdman, Academy Award recipient for Best Picture, 2015.

Specially for Brosella, the band has invited the English jazz pianist Jason Rebello. Rebello is one of the greatest talents in British jazz history and played for years with Wayne Shorter, later on with Sting and Jeff Beck, to finally focus on his jazz career again. In 2016, his solo album "Held" was rightly nominated album of the year at the British Jazz Awards.

Stéphane Mercier - alto saxophone, flute, artistic director
Daniel Stokart - alto & soprano saxophone, flute, alto flute
Vincent Brijs - baritone saxophone
Steven Delannoye - tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
Edouard Wallyn - trombone
David De Vrieze - trombone
Bart De Lausnay - bass trombone
Olivier Bodson - trumpet, flugelhorn
Thomas Mayade - trumpet, flugelhorn
Jean-Paul Estiévenart - trumpet, flugelhorn
Francois Decamps - guitar
Piet Verbist - double bass
Toon Van Dionant - drums
Jason Rebello - piano, keyboard